• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
July 26 @ 8pm  
An Equal Music 
Hawthorn Arts Centre


An evocative and revealing program. Vikram Seth's best-selling novel An Equal Music beautifully reveals the fragile lives of its characters, exploring the intense and personal relationships between musicians and the repertoire they’re drawn to.

Firebird Trio welcomes guests pianist Rhodri Clarke, violist Chris Cartlidge and bassist Stuart Riley in Schubert's beloved Trout Quintet, Beethoven's String Trio in C minor and Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending.

Hawthorn Town Hall, 360 Burwood Rd, Hawthorn


For more concerts in 2019 CLICK HERE

"Paul Schoenfield’s jazz and honky-tonk splashed Café Music delivers a dizzying dose of 1920s and 1930s swing in its outer movements and the gentle amble of folk and spiritual traditions in its lyrical middle. The chomping finale saw Firebird crank up another notch, sweeping and sparkling through this unabashedly optimistic work with the sort of abandon only a supremely disciplined ensemble can get away with."
.... Eamonn Kelly - The Australian